The Ministry of Education, Science, Vocational Training and Early Education existed as one Ministry from 2011, when the Patriotic Government (PF) came into power. However, during the Presidential State of the Nation Address in September, 2015 to officially open the Fifth Session of the Eleventh National Assembly, a presidential decree provided for the split of the Ministry into Ministry of General Education and Ministry of Higher Education.

The Ministry of General Education was given the mandate of overseeing Early, Primary and Secondary Education while the Ministry of Higher Education was given the mandate to oversee University Education, Vocational Education and Training as well as Science Technology and innovation.